9/9 Lunch and Dinner (Jake)

10 Sep

Lunch

1. Green Salad with One Piece of Spiced Chicken Meat (a bit of Caesar dressing)
2. Two Hard Boiled Eggs
3.  Vegetable Soup

(still, so hungry afterwards lol)

Dinner

1. Green Salad
2.  Grilled Steak (15 oz)
3. A glass of white wine

Can i eat oatmeal? Or 100% wheat bread? Also, do i have to eat breakfast,lunch and dinner, cuz sometimes I don’t have time to eat Breakfast and Lunch, thanks!

7 Responses to “9/9 Lunch and Dinner (Jake)”

  1. paleofor6weeks September 10, 2010 at 4:21 am #

    Hey Jake. Welcome! Glad to have you join us.

    First of all, the reason why you are still hungry after your lunch is probably because you are not eating enough fat. Carbs makes you full also, but it also spikes your insulin (makes you fat and too much makes you diabetic) and too much carbs will turn into fat. So remember, fat doesn’t make you fat, carbs make you fat. What’s a good source of fat? Avocado, guacamole, nuts (almonds, walnuts) are the easiest to find.

    Secondly, I love your dinner! That is the best paleo dinner ever! I’ll forget that you had a glass of wine (you’re in Montreal, I suppose it’s like drinking water over there haha).

    Thirdly, to answer your questions:
    Can i eat oatmeal?
    > Unfortunately NOT. Oatmeal is made from grains and grains is high glycemic. High Glycemic foods cause a high spike of insulin in your body. To keep it easy, anything that spikes your insulin is bad and will make you fat. Carbs is High Glycemic as well. By the way, also stay away from cereal. It is loaded with sugar or made from grains. Even the ones they say is healthy.

    Or 100% wheat bread?
    > Sorry not also. Wheat is a grain. Grain is bad. No grains for another 4 weeks for you.

    Also, do i have to eat breakfast,lunch and dinner, cuz sometimes I don’t have time to eat Breakfast and Lunch
    > If I just met you on the street and you ask me that, I’d tell you well … I suppose it’s ok. But since you want to do Paleo for 6 weeks, I’ll tell you yes, you have to eat breakfast, lunch and dinner. Make it a habit, AT LEAST FOR 6 WEEKS. If after Oct 4th you want to drop everything, that’s your call.

    Why do I say this?
    1. Think of it this way, when you skip breakfast, you are technically starving yourself for more than 12 hours. Let’s say you eat dinner at 7 pm, if you skip breakfast and have lunch at 12 pm, then you starved yourself your 17 hours!!

    2. If that doesn’t convince you, think of the ridiculously brutal WODs that you’re doing. You used every muscle in your body to go through those WODs and you want results right? Now when you miss a meal, that muscle will starve and in result, it will not grow. Thus, you don’t grow bigger muscles. Your muscles need enough protein throughout the day to grow bigger and stronger. If you don’t feed it, you pushed through that WOD for nothing. Sort of sucks huh.

  2. joco31490 September 10, 2010 at 4:53 am #

    Wow! That was really detailed haha! Okay, i’ll keep all those points in mind! And I’ll really try to get
    up for breakfast, and prepare my lunch early! Thanks for the advice!!

  3. Brian P September 10, 2010 at 5:14 am #

    haha yeah sorry. i could have just said yes or no. but i wanted to be fair with everyone and provide them with explanations. sorry for the long answer … hope it was useful

  4. Uncle Su September 10, 2010 at 10:11 pm #

    Jake,

    About your hunger. The key could be in the carbs. Do you have a much higher carb ratio during your previous meals before doing Paleo? Your body might be craving sugar because it was so high-strung on it. It gives you the illusion of hunger through hunger pangs even though you have had enough calories. Fear not, the hunger might go away once your body gets more accustomed to more meat and fats and crave less carbs.

    On that note, there could be simple sugar contained within your salad dressing and veg. soup that causes mini-crashes in you, making you hungrier after say 1-2 hours. My advice would be, knock yourself out and try experimenting with low carb meals. Like, really low.

    Personally I find that I perform and feel best on a no-carb diet, but that’s just anecdotal. I have more of my carbs at night when I no longer need to be perky.

    • joco31490 September 11, 2010 at 12:58 am #

      Thanks for the comment! Yes, before the diet, I was having way too much carbs actually. But,
      now, what I’ve been doing when I’m hungry is just eat a bit of lean meat, or stuff myself
      with another salad. The diet’s been going fine actually, I just have to avoid looking at rice or bread
      for the mean time: avoid temptation haha! Thanks again!

      • Uncle Su September 11, 2010 at 2:43 am #

        Great job mate!

        Coincidentally I’ve started compiling some snack ideas, my favorite are:

        Pork Rind (they sell these on the tortilla and chip section in whole foods, look for the ones without MSG or artificial swetener)
        Avocado
        Bacon bits (I fry and cut them up myself)
        Avocado Deviled eggs, to die for!
        Beef jerky
        Dried seaweed
        dark choc

        Most of the I stole from here anyway 🙂 http://www.marksdailyapple.com/primal-blueprint-snacks/

        I totally broke up with Rice when I decided to go down this path. Already used to puzzled looks (family, friends, servers, whatnots)

  5. paleofor6weeks September 11, 2010 at 5:47 am #

    Good point Hendra! Cutting off carbs is like trying to get off crack … It’s true. But when you’re off it, you’ll feel the difference.

Leave a Reply

