What Elite Athletes Eat (Interviews from CrossFit Games)

11 Sep

Here are some great snack ideas from Hendra:

Pork Rind (they sell these on the tortilla and chip section in whole foods, look for the ones without MSG or artificial swetener)
Avocado
Bacon bits (I fry and cut them up myself)
Avocado Deviled eggs, to die for!
Beef jerky
Dried seaweed
dark choc

See more here: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/primal-blueprint-snacks/

6 Responses to “What Elite Athletes Eat (Interviews from CrossFit Games)”

  1. Uncle Su September 11, 2010 at 5:59 am #

    Yooo! Thanks for the highlight… Where did you even dig up these videos from? Good stuff. Did you see CF Journal? Zone Chronicles the newest part has the most relevant stuff ever by far… They’re all doing half carbs and eat so much fats nobody bother to count them lol

  2. Uncle Su September 11, 2010 at 6:01 am #

    Holy cow, I wanna start doing the egg white+milk thing. See if I vomit after…

  3. paleofor6weeks September 11, 2010 at 5:09 pm #

    I haven’t been watching/reading the Zone stuff on the CrossFit Journal. I probably should though, now that I actually do it. Yeah I’ve started Primal (high on saturated fat) at DCF so when I found out that Paleo eats lean meat, I was a little confused because I’m so used to the high fat content. Now, I don’t think I can do low fat, I’m spoiled haha and it’s been working great for me. So maybe I’m more a Primal Zone diet. We’ll see how it works. The wendler program should show some proof =) … thanks for the ebook, I’m almost done with it now

  4. Uncle Su September 12, 2010 at 10:05 pm #

    Hey what do you think/know about protein shakes early in the morning and before bedtime?

    I might want to start Progenex Muscle and Progenex Recovery as soon as they arrive. Whaaazzap!

  5. jvco777 September 13, 2010 at 9:57 pm #

    same question as Hendra: what’s up with the shakes? Is this something I should start taking? What if i work out twice a day? crossfit during the afternoon, martial arts during the evening? should i take it twice?

    that egg white stuff actually sounds good, but I’ll probably cook it for breakfast. egg white cooked with milk. yummm…

  6. paleofor6weeks September 14, 2010 at 11:04 pm #

    @Su: Protein shakes, especially whey is quick absorbing by the muscles, which is why it is good to be taken after a workout. I would say in the morning it would be ok as well especially since you will be having lunch in the next 4 hours anyways. But from what I have heard, taking it before bedtime is probably not going to be useful because you will not be eating (sleeping) for a good 8-10 hours. So you probably would want something more solid/real foods to fuel your muscles as it goes on repair mode during sleep

    @JV: It is your choice whether you should take shakes or not, but you should definitely doing some post workout nutrition (within the hour). Some say chicken and sweet potato some say whey. I go for 100% whey because it’s easy to prepare and quick to be absorbed. If you workout twice in a day and they’re both intense, then take 1-2 scoops of when after each workout. If not, you are not utilizing the muscle’s productivity to distribute nutrients 1 hour after the workout.

Leave a Reply

