QUESTIONS:

14 Sep

1. Is coffee okay? I know it’s not recommended but it helps keep me going. I drink it with whole milk now instead of fat-free.
2. Is butter okay? The book says nothing dairy but if i were in a situation where i had to pick butter or oil, then butter should be okay right? or no?
3. Hard time pooping – i heard this is a side effect of eating just protein and to counter it you have to eat more fiber. What’s your take on this?
4. Benefiber – Yay? or Nay?

Just thought I’d throw these out there and see what you guys think.

JV

2 Responses to “QUESTIONS:”

  1. paleofor6weeks September 14, 2010 at 11:28 pm #

    Guys, keep me honest here, but here’s my opinion:
    1. This is what distinguishes strict paleo vs. not. I’m honestly not strict paleo and I think in this modern world, it’s really difficult to be strict paleo (why do i say this: salt is NOT paleo, think about that). Coffee, cheese, dairy is not paleo, but I think if you can’t stay away from it then just keep it in moderation. Once a day coffee should be ok

    2. Butter is good in my book. It has good saturated fat that helps regulate your cholesterol. Butter vs oil? Butter. Even better, bacon fat =)

    3. I experienced this when I first started Paleo. Make sure you eat enough vegetables. Just like that elite athlete video says, lots of leafy green veggies. Fill up 1/2 – 3/4 of your plate with veggies and the rest with meat.
    See this: http://paleohacks.com/questions/885/lets-talk-about-poop

    4. Not sure. There seems to be arguments about this. My opinion is if you’re used to it then you can continue but in moderation. If you are taking it only so you can poop, try to resort to real foods (like veggies)
    See this: http://paleohacks.com/questions/918/best-paleo-fiber-sources

  2. Uncle Su September 16, 2010 at 2:21 am #

    Hey JV,

    Here’s some links covering some of your questions:
    http://www.marksdailyapple.com/how-much-is-too-much/
    http://www.marksdailyapple.com/how-much-is-too-much-round-2/

    They do cover Coffee, Fiber, and Butter.

    As for #3, my personal experience is yes, more fiberous veg, but more oil helps too. I notice that taking more fish oil helps with my bowel movements.

Leave a Reply

