Random tips to automate/ streamline your Paleo Diet

15 Sep

Here’s a list of things (that I can think of off the top of my head) that can help you save time preparing your food day in day out. The idea here is to batch a lot of your preparation and processing into a single 2 hour window starting from going to supermarket to having all them good stuff in your pantry/fridge.

1. Meat

I love beef. I eat steak 3 times a day. But I hate buying meat in bulk and having to freeze them and then plan how much to thaw overnight in the fridge for the next day.Here’s how I save time with meat:

– I usually buy 2lb of meat, last me around 3 days worth, just nice for them to stay in the fridge (and not frozen). No hassle with thawing at a reasonable 3rd day freshness. (Time saved/day: 5min)

– I get my Meat from Whole foods (or whatever supermarket you fancy, I just love having butchers taking care of packaging my meat). Did you know that the in-house butchers cut your meat AND marinade your meat to your specification. They do! So now I just pop a quarter piece of meat, readily marinated with Garlic and Herbs, right into the oven. Voila! (Time saved/day: 15min – marinating, cutting meat, weighing meat. Saves money on marinate sauce too.)

2. Vegetables

My Favorite is Broccoli. Usually I cut and pack them into 2 cup worth of ziplock bags (I purchase 8 cups of broccoli at any one time), and recycle the ziplock through the week and start with a new pack next week. I boil a pack a day. (Time saved: 10min – Cutting, measuring)

3. Bacon

A bacon-filled day is always a happy day...

I fry 1 lb. of bacon at a go, and store them in tupperware container, then eat them for 2 days of breakfast and snack. Cooked bacon last for a week in the fridge. Do this if you don’t mind cold bacon, a little less crispy but just as tasty. Like beef jerky but more tender. (Time saved: 30min – cooking, cleaning grease from stove, washing greasy dishes)

4. Nuts and Seeds

Nuts and seeds have very long shelf life. Put a pound of almond in a ziplock and take it with you wherever you go. Great source of fat for snack.

5. Avocado Deviled eggs.

Deviled eggs on Paleo-goodness.

This is a good way to batch eggs for snacks and even breakfast. Boil up to a dozen of eggs and suddenly you have 24 egg halves fulled with fatty yolk and avocado mixture ready to share/snack through for 2 days in the fridge. Creamy and delicious too, a favorite with children. (Time saved: 20min – Assuming you eat eggs everyday)

What are other batching ideas that you have incorporated for your meal preparations? Hit the comments to share you meal hack ideas.

8 Responses to “Random tips to automate/ streamline your Paleo Diet”

  1. paleofor6weeks September 16, 2010 at 2:43 pm #

    this is a great article hendra! i never thought of organizing my meals this way. I think I sort of do the same thing for my steak but never actually planned it that well. i should really try to go to a whole foods and have them do that for me. are their meat a lot more expensive though? i usually just go to safeway or costco and just buy a bulk of meat.

    thanks for the tip!

    • Uncle Su September 16, 2010 at 9:28 pm #

      I usually get the London Broil bottom cut (cheapest choice there)… it goes for $5.99/lb or sometimes $4.99/lb during savings day. It’s lean but surprisingly tasty and juicy if you bake it. I guess it’s cheap because it’s less tasty than the fattier counterparts, but I love this one. Plus the service is top notch!

      The cheapest Grassfed would be london broil too, for $11.99/lb… I might try eating those starting this weekend.

      • paleofor6weeks September 16, 2010 at 11:08 pm #

        ok i gotta check that out. i told my wife Julia about ur post too and now she wants to check out Whole Foods too =)

        i think ive been eating steak straight 3 days in a row (well besides last night’s Pancho’s episode).

      • Hendra September 16, 2010 at 11:15 pm #

        yay! Oh grab some pork rind chips too while you’re there. The salt flavour (yellow packaging) is better…

  2. jvco777 September 16, 2010 at 4:54 pm #

    oh man thanks for the post… i’ve been trying to do “restaurant paleo” the last 3 weeks since i was too busy to cook but want to try cooking paleo for the next half of the challenge. I feel like restaurants may put too much MSG, salt or sugar since a lot of their stuff is pre-made and pre-marinated. This info is great! thanks!

    • Uncle Su September 16, 2010 at 9:31 pm #

      Glad it helped JV!

      Restaurants stuff, definitely not as controllable as stuff you create yourself.

      You could bring in deli-cut meat for lunch in the office too. I did it for a complete 2 months, taste boringly bland but does the trick. Try to pick something with lower sodium.

      • paleofor6weeks September 16, 2010 at 11:09 pm #

        i heard from a lot of people, especially the ones who have lost a mass of weight that paleo didn’t just help them lose weight, but also taught them how to cook.

        jv, i got some paleo recipe blogs on the bottom of this blog. everydaypaleo.com is a really good one. lots of pics and instructions

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Repost: The Benefits of Saturated Fats « Paleo for 6 weeks - September 16, 2010

    […] PS: This statement in bold above surprised me a bit because I thought any fat was good, so I’ve been eating a lot of fatty meat (from Safeway). But it looks like it depends on how the meat is being raised as well. Grass-fed is way to pricey for me, so I will continue to get my meats from Safeway and Costco but will eat the fatty part in moderation. Or you can try Whole Foods and follow Hendra’s tips and suggestions on his post. […]

Leave a Reply

