9/15 (Hendra)

16 Sep

Lunch: 4 strips Bacon + 4Oz Steak + 2 scoop Muscle Progenex powder

Post workout: Protein shake + coconut juice

Dinner: Shabuway, still Paleo but I’m too full.

Question: When we talk about bacon, do we care about the omega 6 content in bacon fat? Is there such thing as 100% grass-fed organic pork just like beef? I don’t see those varieties in Whole Foods. Bacon is… Just bacon. I saw Mark Sisson’s article, there’s mention of sodium and Nitrate, but that’s it.

Educate me here.

7 Responses to “9/15 (Hendra)”

  1. paleofor6weeks September 16, 2010 at 2:32 pm #

    hmm, im not sure. my understanding is that we take fish oil to compensate for the omega 6 overload that we take because the meat we eat are not fed grass. so if you’re concerned with the amount of omega-6 in your food, then you should probably take the prescribed amount of fish oil daily.

    starting last monday and until the end of this paleo challenge, i will be taking 10 fish oil pills a day =) … so far, im less sore

    • Uncle Su September 16, 2010 at 9:05 pm #

      Yeah but my concern is more on the nature of pork and pigs in general. Do we care about their omega 6 content just like beef fats? Since pigs are omnivorous, eat whatever they want and whatever’s available to them, wouldn’t it be completely oxymoron to look for grass-fed pork? (if they do exist anyway?)

      How guilty should I feel about omega 6 when I eat bacon fat?

      • paleofor6weeks September 16, 2010 at 11:02 pm #

        hmm, that’s a good point. im not sure about that. i just know whenever i meet some crossfit paleo guy, they tell me, “all bacon is good”.

        ill do some research.

  2. paleofor6weeks September 16, 2010 at 2:51 pm #

    question for you: your lunch looks like 5 blocks of protein + 5 blocks of protein =) (plus some carbs and sugar that’s in the progenex). did you do this on purpose to avoid carbs?

    what coconut juice do you use? i’ve never thought of mixing whey with coconut juice …

    • Uncle Su September 16, 2010 at 9:18 pm #

      Dude cut me some slack that’s 8 blocks Protein(OK still too much from Zone prescription), but anyhow I kinda justified it by a) the Progenex package just came and I want to try out how it taste/feel, b) I want to try out playing with the blenderbottle, c) I missed breakfast so I need to replenish my night’s worth of deficit (best excuse ever!)

      Oh and 2 scoops contains only 1 block carb, negligible.

      I did coconut cuz I heard it helps to replenish ions and bidily fluids, helps hydration. And I do it for the sugar content (2 cups has 2 blocks) perfect for post workout since protei powder lacks sugar.

      Whole foods have like 3 brands, Brian and Amy (my favorite and cheapest, comes in huge cans), O.N.Ewater (taste most like fresh out of coconut, least sweet of the 3, natural sour and tart taste. From Brazil) and Vita Coco (what I drink now, made in USA).

      All 3 brands are 100% coconut water.
      Make sure you don’t get cheap chinese supermarket kind that’s like 85% coconut water and 15% sugar BY WEIGHT. That’s like drinking water saturated with grain sugar. Some brand even have maltodextrin, avoid those.

      • paleofor6weeks September 16, 2010 at 11:04 pm #

        haha, im just pullin ur leg dude, since ur the Zone master. you really wanted to try that progenex huh? how is it? feel any different? you should try it right after a metconish wod.

        regarding c) so if i miss breakfast, i do have to make up for 5P2C6F that I missed right? that’s what i did 2 days ago. i ate like 10P4C12F for dinner =)

      • Hendra September 16, 2010 at 11:09 pm #

        It’s feels uh… OK I feel tighter around my chest and arms, but that should entirely be psychological. I could measure the diameters but shouldn’t see any difference since muscle don’t grow that fast, right? An extra inch overnight? Anabolic Steroid would go out of business lol!

        So I do 2 scoops of Muscle before breakfast and 1scoop Recovery + 1scoop Muscle post-workout. Yesterday postworkout, I felt like I could go for another WOD 30min after I drank the concoction. I’m just saying. Might not really have the actual strength, but I felt great!

        LOL meal that huge, what’s the aftermath like? Can you even sleep at night?

Leave a Reply

