You are Half Way Through!! How do you Feel? – Post to Comments

21 Sep

Welcome to the 3rd week of the Paleo Challenge. You are half way through! Keep up the great work. I see a great improvement in food choices, some people learning to cook and also some new joiners. I’d like to introduce the latest addition to the challenge, Sharon – my cousin from the UK. Welcome Sharon! Yes, our blog has now branched out of the United States 🙂

How do you feel? Do you feel more energy throughout the day? Are you less tired? Do you see a big increase in your workout performance? Post in the comments how you feel so far …

On this 3rd week, I’d like to share a couple of things that we learned from the Paleo Seminar that happened 2 days ago at CrossFit KMSF:

  • Confirmed – Lean Meat Unless you go Grass. If you are not eating grass fed meat, you should be cutting off the fat and only eating its lean meat. And you should be supplementing with Fish Oil to ensure balance between Omega-6 (from the corn/grain fed meat) and Omega-3 (fish oil).
  • Best of the worst Alcohol. Beer is the worst alcohol because it is made from wheat. If you must have alcohol, resort to red wine or the NorCal Margarita (tequila, crushed ice, lime and soda water). Someone also said that Vodka is CrossFit approved!
  • Milk. Is NOT Paleo. Strict Paleo does not allow dairy and I never knew why. Here’s how Diane (our Paleo Seminar speaker) from BalancedBites.com put it: Milk is usually given to babies, little kids to help them grow. So if you are not growing, you shouldn’t be drinking milk.
  • If you can’t pick it, heat it and eat it, it is NOT PALEO. And that food is considered processed. Your body is meant to eat real whole foods, try to stay away from processed foods.

I’ve told Diane from BalancedBites.com about this blog and she has kindly allowed me to post the slides that was presented on the Paleo Seminar. You can find it by clicking the image below.

Be sure to also check out Diane’s blog or connect through facebook through the links below:

http://www.balancedbites.com
http://www.facebook.com/balancedbites

One Response to “You are Half Way Through!! How do you Feel? – Post to Comments”

  1. Hendra September 23, 2010 at 5:41 am #

    I’ll start.

    I haven’t been eating healthy for the past 2 weeks, and rather than discuss how great I’m feeling under Paleo, I’ll diss about how awful I feel without it.

    So I have been eating lots of stuff cooked under vegetable oil, missing my fish oil dosages, eating ramen and pasta and rice, missing meals 2 days in a row (Idk if that counts as Intermittent Fasting, but there’s an obvious lack of energy), ice creams, other desserts… eating too much in a single meal to the point that I have to lie down (ate korean bbq buffet twice this week)…

    And the numbers. I went from 61.7Kg to 63.2Kg in a single week. That was my weight early August, all gained back in a week. I doubt that’s muscle build either because I missed half a week of CrossFit.

    I realize now how much is at stake if I waver off from this diet and back to my comfort zone (which leaves me feeling lethargic and irritated all day anyway, the irony of comfort food). It’s a slippery slope, guys.

Leave a Reply

